Manga version / Anime version and other media

Well, here I was thinking about if I could choose between one or the other… I can’t  and the reasons are many:

First of all, in most cases,the same  manga and anime title do share major characteristics, but in others it’s merely the names, and somehow the idea, on rare occasions the manga is much much much better ,in some super weird cases the manga is horrible for some reason,in others both suck or sometimes anime is glorious and manga is ok. Let me give you examples

The first,and actually, the manga that got me into signing up in manga reading sites… Rosario + Vampire , “What? You usually dislike fanservice like that!” Yes I do,I didn’t even glance at the anime for longer than 1 episode due to this… but the manga… oh ladies and gentlemen, yes it does have some fanservice but it can’t be even remotely compared to the anime, the fighting scenes are awesome, the characters are yummy yummy yummy , heck  I even like the freaking dude, yes of course I forgot his name… Yuki? Yuno? Whatever,that manga got me thinking what else could there be out there…

I of course jumped right into the yuri genre tag/department of said manga sites ( Manga Fox and Dynasty reader ❤ ) and I can gladly say I’ve read almost all of them, if not all, one thing about manga is you get an even wider variety of genres and titles, sure anime has gore, but nothing like Mai-chan’s daily life ( ok, that is technically guro,but you know ), there’s not many titles to properly cover lolicon or shotacon in anime either ( not that I like those, I’m just mentioning stuff ) . And of course, there is no comparison  between how many yuri titles there are in manga as there are in anime, and I mean S class and Grade 1 yuri, cos “some yuri on the side” it’s a bit easier ( I still like that! any good yuri is good for me ) to find, or the good old yuri played for laughs,but oh boy, if a series of OVAS with the works of Amano Shuninta came out I’d roll on my head with joy,for 4 days and 4 nights.

Let us continue this amusing review, I can think of another title I liked much better in the manga, EVEN THOUGH the work felt very very uncompleted for reasons that my mind cannot grasp, it was popular and selling well, why didn’t it end properly?? Yes, Strawberry Panic!!, the anime was fine,there was not a “daisuki” but a blatant non arguable “Ashiteru yo” you can’t say that to friends,so ,golden. But Shizuma was way cooler in the manga, they had way more touching moments and it all felt more natural, the bad thing is,it just kind of ends, if that’s the ending the author had in mind I must say.. What? why? -sighs- but all in all, good material. One of my first too .Character design also is far cuter in the manga.

Ai

A more recent one…. while Gokujyo: Gokurakuin Joshikōryō Monogatari , or just Gokujyo, is a wacky tasteless title, the anime I found AMAZING, cos it’s hilarious, the protagonist is like a freaking delinquent, the way she talks haha, and I liked the “romance” kind of thing she has going on with the ojou-sama, it’s cute somehow. The manga is hinting way too much at heterosexual sex, so it’s meh, in the anime there are no guys to be bothersome.and no fellatio with an eggplant ffs

Another title… Yuri Kuma Arashi … ❤ ❤ the anime is finished, and glorious in all gloriousness,  no hinting no yuri goggles needed no nothing, a dramatic , sweet, yet realistic love story ( putting bears and bear Goddess aside ) with promised kiss and all, this is however the true power of a yuri title, the manga is very different, in more than one way, the school has boys and girls, the 3 judges attend said school, there is a Ginko and a Kureha, no Lulu nor Sumika ( THANKS FOR NO SUMIKA ) ..yet at least, apparently it won’t be so magical, but I’m really interested since it’s being drawn by… Morishima Akiko-sensei , who is one of my most favourite mangakas ( yes, I am aware of the grammar back there ) and I recently learned she along Morinaga Milk-sensei, Amano Shuninta-sensei and Jin Takemiya-sensei are either lesbians or bi, HOW FREAKING COOL IS THAT? SUPER COOL.

You know who else is a female mangaka? Saburo Uta, I have no idea on her sexuality, but I had to mention her, we all know I love Citrus for the character design most of all, they are just gorgeous, the story is …well to be honest I think it’s dragging a bit and I wanna kick Mei,and Yuzu for being silly, then again it’s being realistic I guess ( except for the twins,those two came out of the blue!! ) so I can only hope it ends up great so I can gift myself with the complete series for my birthday. ❤ ❤

Akuma no Riddle…. there’s more yuri in the manga, for Hanabusa and Banba Mahiru-san at least, that’s all I wanted ❤ ( yes, usually there is more yuri in the manga version,unless it’s Sakura trick then it’s kinda the same amount,that’s one of the few titles I can say anime and manga are almost the same to me,so good ) but it seems the ending will be the same as in the anime… what? No, change it! -pouts-

In most cases if I watch the anime first I usually don’t read the manga, unless certain conditions are met. I didn’t nor do I wanna read Madoka’s manga, cos the movies were awesome enough!! I did read it to know the ending,but I found it OK only. I LOVED Strike Witches and may or may not someday read the manga, so far I’m reading Red witches, a … side story? well it’s about another unit, but the yuri is super strong there so….

I do not only read yuri manga or watch yuri anime by the way, it’s just my favourite, but I love some terror like, Another, Jigoku Shoujo, Ghost Hunt, Pet shop of horrors, I enjoy classics such as Evangelion, Sailor Moon, Dragon Ball, and of course new cool ones , I can think of Mirai Nikki, Watamote, Saint Seiya soul of gold,etc

So,all in all, manga has some clear advantages,like you can read it as fast as you can/want, unlike anime with which you have to actually spend 24 minutes or so per episode , ( unless it’s meh and you skip it,in which case.. I just wouldn’t keep watching if it’s so boring lol ) , and you can re-read as much as you want,yes you can rewatch as much as you want too. The extent and variety of themes… but of course anime has it’s perks, first of all, it’s freaking animated, the whole ending scene in Yurikuma Arashi when the opening song starts and the whole thing is over.. ahhhhh can’t describe it, also action scenes and fights are best animated,that is true ( you Nanoha and Goku, Ichigo and Rukia, all of you Strike Witches )

Now the doujinshi can provide with what  is yet unseen … hehe, will cover that on another post tho.

So,anime,manga,different,similar, it’s all about how it’s done and how you like it, me? I love’em both . Manga has omake and Anime has ovas and specials ❤

Ah right No Game No Life I found AWESOME,as awesome comes, but I did not like the manga, it seemed too much blah blah, even if the anime has also tons of interesting blah blah, I don’t know why.

As for light novels or cd Dramas..well my japanese level is far far far far from good so I can’t indulge in CD dramas, and the novels..well..no,for text I will read books, I like my characters to be drawn somehow, either animated or not.Now for games..like hmm KanColle? well if I could play the games..that’d be something,but most are not easy to get over here..so won’t be counting those either.

This image…well the cover is awesome awesomeness, I love poor Banba-san she and Shino from Kiniro Mosaic will be featured as 2 of my favourite characters next time. Ahh so tragic ,yet she’s so sweet… Banba that is,not Shino lol,Shino is nutty.

05

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

  • Search