Train to Busan

Also known as “Estación Zombie” in Latin america. let me tell you, it’s a big thing we do get Asian horror movies on our cinema theatres, so I was excited out of my head to go watch it.  Asian is not only Japan let me tell you, there’s a lot of countries there, I find Thai cinema particularly interesting by the way, in any case let’s begin with this review. ( Aye, I am a bit of an Asia-fan)

15369206_215276585584222_1871721087196839840_o

Train to Busan @ Cinepolis, the only chain here that will show really interesting stuff.

You can see I took the picture outside of the movies, hehe, so, as you should already know Asian horror movies come with feels, lots of them, it’s not just vengeful spirits and curses and zombies and horrible creatures, no sir!  They usually go and tell us about things like how much we rely on our phones ( one missed call ) , how much appearances have become too important ( sick nurses ), of course they tell us about broken homes, vengeance, remorse, etc . This one in particular presents us with …the dad, whose name I of course forgot already, he works a lot, thinks about himself mostly and has no time for his little daughter, his wife left him, I can guess why and the girl wants to go see  her. On her birthday, so the dad agrees to take her on the train, there’s some sort of virus outbreak ( how convenient!) and people get bitten, then infected, you know how that is. But this happens inside a damn moving train, so it was really exciting, it made me think of the first part of Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles actually…

The interesting part is to see how the dad becomes less of a egotistical jerk, there’s a pair of sisters too, somehow elderly, really sweet.. A very selfish business man which I am sure showed the dad the path he was taking would lead him to be like that, how I despised him, still just a human though.. A very awesome super cool strong dude with a pregnant wife, sport young man and sport young girl and of course the kiddo. I do not usually like kiddos, specially not in movies, but Su-an ( may remember it wrong) was relatable for me! She was so sad and scared, sniff.

I cried, a lot, oh gods how I cried. Especially at the end. Dammit.  I also laughed and I also got excited like, cheering for them like “OMG RUN YOU FUCKING IDIOTS RUUUUUN”

So, without spoiling anything, do go watch, get ready to cry, if you do have a heart, otherwise you won’t, hehe just kidding..or am I? Highly recommended.

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

